Jim Lewis serves as mayor. The mayor is regularly elected in November of odd-numbered years for a 2-year term.


Council Members are elected in November of odd-numbered years on a 2/3 split.


Terms Expiring on December 31, 2019:

Kevin Eisma, Craig Petersen and Nathan Van Gorp

Nathan Van Gorp resigned July 1, 2016 and Dawn Mueller was appointed to fill the vacancy until November 2017 election.


Terms Expiring on December 31, 2017:

Kent Hoogland and Mel Schwiesow


City Council Meetings:

3rd Monday of each month

6:30 p.m.

Ireton City Office

502 4th Street


To be included on the agenda, contact the City Administrator By 4 p.m. on the Thursday preceding a regular Monday meeting


City Code Provisions for the Duties of the Mayor, Mayor Pro-Tem & Council.


Thank You To The Mayor & Council For Your Service!

CITY OF IRETON  |  502 4th Street  |  Ireton, Iowa  51027  |  Phone: 712-278-2112  |  Fax: 712-278-2114  |  E-mail:

IretonIA. com is a community website created and presented by the Ireton Area Historical Society. We invite Ireton residents, former residents and others with an interest in Ireton to submit photos and information. We'd love to hear from you! There are photo slideshows tucked throughout the site. For links to them all, just click on the "Slideshow Index" at the bottom of the page. Please let us know if you find any errors on the site or have trouble displaying any pages If asked, please be sure to click "Allow Blocked Content" so that pages display correctly.